With Spectacles on Nose

I am now a glasses-wearing person.  See?

Look over there!

I first got a pair of glasses in 2008.  I was in school, and a combination of no sleep and tons of computer reading time contributed to a pretty desperate situation.  I was having headaches, my eyes hurt really badly, and things started looking blurry all the time.  It got to the point where I couldn’t even look at a page to read; the pain and blurriness made it impossible to see the words.  Also my eyes started pulsing and my eyelids started twitching.  I went to the world’s most adorable optometrist.

She told me that my vision was technically perfect (20/15 left, 20/13 right, 20/13 with both, I think?) but that my eye muscles were working so hard to achieve that level of vision that they were getting overly stressed.  At least, that’s the story I remember.  Having been back, I think I may’ve gotten some things wrong.  Anyway, she gave me a pair of glasses with a little tiny prescription and an anti-glare coating to use for anything involving an electronic screen.  I used them for that for the past 6 years.

Recently, I started having headaches again, and a couple of weeks ago, my eyes started pulsing, so I made an appointment.

First, I looked in the little machine, and the tech asked me to look at the chart on the right (out of two) and read the letters on the last line I could see.  The letters on the very bottom (7th) line were crystal-clear, so I recited them with ease.  She did some switch of levers and asked me to look at the chart in the middle.  Same thing.  Then more switching.  “Read the last line you can see in the chart on the left?”

“WHOA!”  The thought crossed my mind that the machine might be broken.  “Um, wow… that’s… pretty blurry.  I think I can kinda make out Line 6?”  I read them out, with difficulty, guessing at some of the letters.

I am the disappoint.

According to the doctor, the “astigmatism in [my] left eye has gotten a little worse”.

The what in my who now?

You see, I had clearly misinterpreted what she’d said at my first visit, having not heard her say the word astigmatism.  So now I think what she said then is what she said now:  “It’s not a bad astigmatism by any means, but what’s happening is that the muscles of your left eye keep working to focus it to match the right.”  I interpreted this to mean that the curvature of the lens doesn’t allow my left eye to match my right eye, but that doesn’t stop the muscles from trying, so they’re just pushing a boulder up a hill all day.

I think she said I had 20/25 vision in my left eye.  Still 20/15 in the right.

“This type of astigmatism certainly could be the cause of your headaches.  I won’t guarantee that it is, but I’ve definitely seen that happen before, as your eye muscles get tired.”  She recommended I try wearing glasses much more often — ‘most’ of the time — and see if my headaches go away.  She said she’d give me a new prescription.  I had no idea that the glass in front of the right eye had nothing in it whatsoever.

We talked about contacts due to the active nature of my teaching jobs, but after trying one on (in?), I decided I’d rather not have eyes than wear the contact.  (Kidding.  It was pretty uncomfortable, though, and apparently you can get as close with contacts as you can with glasses, so things were blurrier with it in than with it out.)

Sidenote:  I found out recently that some people have a long-distance-vision-prescription contact in one eye and a close-up one in the other.  This utterly blows my mind.  Our brains are so miraculous!

… This whole entry probably seems ridiculously naive to some people.

I chose the glasses you see here because they looked just sassy enough (you can’t really tell in the pictures, but they’re red) and because they don’t have the little nose-pad things to get caught in my hair and mess up my ponytail when I put them on my head.  They do, however, feel a little heavy at the moment, and they leave little red indentations on my nose; I’m hoping my face will get used to them and that’ll stop.

They also make me look very smart:

…and by ‘smart’, I apparently mean ‘like I just had a stroke’.

Leave a Reply

