To Make Midnight Mushrooms

Three more lbs. last week, for a total of just under 15.

One of the recipes that was particularly successful and super delicious was:

A Creamy Mushroom SOUUUUUUUUUUUP!!! (Soup… soup…) 

[As usual, all times and measurements are approximate.  The recipe is for about 4-5 hearty servings with a little left over to pour over vegetables or something.  The next time I’ll probably make half a batch so that it won’t go bad in the fridge and so I don’t have to worry about freezing it.]

Wha’d’ya put in it?

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 5-6 cloves garlic, diced
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 2 thinly sliced leeks, white and light-green parts (I buy them pre-prepped from Trader Joe’s.)
  • 3-4 tablespoons butter
  • 1 pound cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 2-3 cups mushroom stock (Optional?  We’ll know when next I try.)
    • When I’d made something with shiitakes and young portobellos a few weeks prior, I’d diced the stems small, sautéd them with garlic and onion in butter, then added 4-5 cups water and boiled the hell out of them.  Then strained into a mason jar for stock.
  • 2-3 cups water
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

How d’ya do it?

  1. Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a big soup/stock pot.  Add the garlic and onion and sauté until tender and fragrant, maybe 5 minutes.
  2. Add the butter and stir until it’s melted and starting to bubble.  Add the leeks and cook until soft and fragrant.  I did about 10 minutes, ’cause I wasn’t afraid of overcooking, though 5-7 is probably sufficient.
  3. Add the mushrooms and stir until coated.  Keep ’em heating for another 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  They’ll smell amazing.
  4. Add the stock and/or water.  Stir well and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for as long as you feel like it.  I think I might’ve done an hour.
  5. Remove from heat and let cool until you can handle it without endangering yourself.  Add by batches to the blender and puree until smooth-ish.  (I like to have little bits of mushroom for texture, but I consider this a ‘drinking soup’, which I drank from a mug rather than using a spoon, so I pureed for quite a bit.)
  6. Return to pot and add cream, salt, and pepper.  Heat over low heat until desired temperature.  Serve or pack for storage.  (I used two mason jars and put it in the fridge once it was cool enough, in which it kept very well for a week and not-so-well for two weeks.)

It’s obviously hearty, and it’s absolutely delicious.  What’s I’m saying is, I’m a genius.

One thought on “To Make Midnight Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

